The Texture Retention Rating Scale, covers seven types of carpet:

  1. Saxony cut-pile
  2. Berber loop
  3. Commercial loop (low profile)
  4. Cut-pile commercial plush
  5. Commercial patterned loop
  6. Cut-pile shag
  7. Tip-sheared (with a pattern)

The change in appearance in your carpet is graded on a 5.0 to 1.0 scale, with 5.0 being the lowest degree of surface change and 1.0 the highest degree of surface change.

The reference scales continue to be evaluated by CRI’s Performance Standards Committee. This committee, comprised of carpet industry laboratory and testing experts, spent more than a year fine-tuning the current version of the scales.

But remember; it’s your carpet and your money spent, so ultimately you need to maintain your new carpet.